Three area wrestlers named finalists for Dan Gable Wrestler of the Year

Three area high school wrestlers were finalists for a prestigious postseason award.

The Miss and Mister Dan Gable Wrestler of the Year Awards were presented today in Boone.

Fareway Stores and IA Wrestle present the awards in coordination with the Iowa Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association. 

In Class 1A, Max Magayna of Waterloo Columbus and Garret Rinken of Nashua-Plainfield were finalists. Underwood’s Gable Porter ultimately won the award.

In Class 3A, Waverly-Shell Rock’s Ryder Block was a finalist. Iowa City High’s Ben Kueter won the award.

Cole Bair

Cole Bair is Program Director and hosts 'Cole & Company' from 5-6pm weekdays on 1650 - 102.3 The Fan. Follow him on Twitter @realcolebair.
Back to top button